Albuquerque Urologist Damara Kaplan, PhD, MD, Assumes Presidency of National Organization of Urologists

Albuquerque urologist Damara Kaplan, PhD, MD, assumed the Presidency of the American Association of Clinical Urologists Board of Directors at its annual business meeting October 16, 2021. Also transitioning into new executive committee roles were William Reha, MD, MBA, President-elect (Woodbridge, VA) and Harbhajan Ajrawat, MD, State Advocacy Network Chair (National Harbor, MD).

Dr. Kaplan is a urologist at the New Mexico Cancer Center. She trained at the University of New Mexico where she also earned a PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences/Toxicology.

In addition to electing Dr. Kaplan and other AACU officers, AACU membership approved the nominations of James A. Brown, MD (Iowa City, IA); Edward Cohen, MD, FACS (San Diego, CA); James Gilbaugh, III, MD, FACS (Wichita, KS); and Jennifer Miles-Thomas, MD (Virginia Beach, VA) to to serve as regional representatives to the Board of Directors; as well as Mark Jackson, MD (Fayetteville, AR) to lead the Employed Urologist Committee and Robert Lurvey, MD, JD to assume the role of Alternate Delegate to the AMA House of Delegates.

The entire AACU leadership roster may be viewed on the Leadership page.