

AACU 2024 Advocacy Summit & Annual Meeting

September 22-24, 2024 • Grand Hyatt • Washington, DC







AGENDA

AACU 2024 Advocacy Summit & Annual Meeting September 22-24, 2024



Sunday, September 22 - The Road to Reimbursement	
12:45 PM – 1:00 PM	Welcome & Opening Comments Harbhajan Singh Ajrawat, MD - AACU President Lorie Fleck, MD, Program Chair - AACU Secretary/Treasurer
1:00 PM – 3:30 PM	Integrating New and Innovative Treatments into Your Practice: What are the Challenges, What is Needed? Moderator Ron Lanton III, Esq. Speakers: Sandeep Bagla, MD, Jeff Glaser, Zack Glaser, MD, Alexandra Rogers, MD
	 Biosimilars - Ron Lanton III, Esq. Biomarkers and Uro Oncology Treatments New BPH Treatments - Sandeep Bagla, MD OAB Neuromodulation - Alexandra Rogers
	30-minute Group Discussion - All Speakers Panelists: Mark Painter, CPMA; Rob Ungvary, Olympus
3:30 PM – 4:00 PM	Break
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM	Office Based Facility Association Jason S. McKitrick
5:00 PM – 7:00 PM	Getting It Paid For: Breaking the Code Mark Painter, CPMA How to get it paid for now in the interim and what is needed that we can advocate for in the future to maximize.
7:00 PM	Networking Reception

THANK YOU TO OUR 2024 CORPORATE MEMBERS

PRESIDENTIAL LEVEL





CONGRESSIONAL LEVEL



GOLD LEVEL LEADERSHIP SUMMIT SPONSOR

Johnson & Johnson

EXHIBITORS AND CONTRIBUTORS













Monday, September 23 - Hot Topics in Advocacy and Policy	
7:30 AM – 8:30 AM	Industry Sponsored Product Theater Breakfast Breakfast Speaker Sponsored by J&J Getting Ahead of Advanced Prostate Cancer Dr. Lawrence Gervasi
8:30 AM – 9:00 AM	Black Box Warnings and Advocacy Efforts Rachel Rubin, MD
9:00 AM – 9:45 AM	Federal Legislative Update & Priorities UROPAC Update Moderator: Ron Lanton III, Esq AACU Government Relations Director Ian Thompson III, MD - AACU Health Policy Chair Mark Edney, MD - AACU Past President Peter Bretan, MD - AACU President Elect
9:45 AM – 10:00 AM	Break
10:00 AM – 10:30 AM	Political Side Hustle: The Importance of the Urologist Running for Office Congressman Neal Dunn, MD
10:30 AM – 10:45 AM	Discussion Brian Duty, MD
10:45 AM – 11:15 AM	Synergies Between the AMA and the Urology Community Bobby Mukkamala, MD, AMA President Elect
11:30 AM – 12:00 PM	Congress Through a Urologists Lense Congressman Greg Murphy, MD
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM	Lunch
1:00 PM – 1:45 PM	State Legislative Update & Priorities Moderators: Ron Lanton III, Esq AACU Government Relations Director, Brian Duty, MD - AACU State Advocacy Network Scope of Practice: Shortage of Urologists, Practice without Residency Licensing Board: How to Avoid the Pitfalls of Statutes in State Practicing License
1:45 PM – 2:15 PM	The Non-Compete Effect on Urology Gene Ransom III
2:15 PM – 2:30 PM	
2:30 PM- 3:00 PM	Cost Plus Lecture: How was this Accomplished? Alex Oshmyansky, CoFounder, Mark Cubin Cost Plus Company
3:00 PM- 3:30 PM	Industry Stakeholder Resources
3:30 PM- 4:45 PM	Shark Tank: Voice Your Ideas (4-6 pitches) Innovative ideas to improve access to care, our ability to provide care to patients while getting paid. Peter Bretan, MD, Terry Regan, MD, Ian Thompson, MD
4:45 PM – 5:30 PM	Business Meeting Harbhajan Singh Ajrawat, MD - AACU President
7:00 PM – 9:00 PM	Uropac Dinner
Tuesday, September 24 - Hill Day	
7:30 AM – 8:30 AM	Breakfast
8:30 AM – 9:30 AM	Advocacy Strategy Workshop Ron Lanton III, Esq AACU Government Relations Director
10:00 AM – 1:00 PM	AACU Visits to the Hill

LEADERSHIP AACU 2024 Advocacy Summit & Annual Meeting September 22-24, 2024



2023 - 2024 OFFICERS



President Harbhajan Singh Ajrawat, MD



Immediate Past President William C. Reha, MD, MBA



President-Elect Peter N. Bretan, MD



Health Policy Chair Ian M. Thompson III, MD



Secretary/Treasurer Lorie Fleck, MD



State Advocacy Network Chair Charles Mark Jackson, MD

SECTION REPRESENTATIVES



Mid-Atlantic Section Jennifer U. Miles-Thomas, MD



New England Section Brian H. Irwin, MD



New York Section Amanda C. North, MD



North Central Section James A. Brown, MD



Northeastern Section Mark D. White, MD, FACS



South Central Section James H. Gilbaugh, III, MD, FACS



Southeastern Section Ali Kasraeian, MD, FACS



Western Section Edward S. Cohen, MD, FACS

ADDITIONAL BOARD OF DIRECOTRS



Employed Urologist Committee Chair Zachary Glaser, MD



Young Urologist Committee Chair Daoud Dajani, MD, MSc

COMMITTEE CHAIRS



Industry Relations Chair Ali Kasraeian, MD, FACS



Membership Committee Chair Michael William Witthaus, MD



